Call or Email Today:

713-862-8880

Available 24/7 - Free Consultations

Rand Mintzer - Attorneys at Law

First Offense DWI

Houston First Offense DWI Attorney

An arrest for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in the state of Texas requires prompt and effective action. Even a first DWI conviction can have lasting effects that should be avoided at all costs. The truth is that being represented by a qualified Houston-area DWI lawyer will greatly increase the possibility of having a DWI charge reduced or dismissed.

A First DWI Offense in Texas

A professional criminal defense attorney is prepared with just the right questions and answers. Never lose sight of the fact that a driving while intoxicated charge requires that the prosecution and law enforcement officials prove their case beyond any reasonable doubt in court. When erratic or illegal driving patterns prompt a traffic stop, an arrest for operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol may be triggered by one of the following circumstances:

  • The driver fails to pass a field sobriety test
  • A police officer notices drugs or alcohol in the vehicle
  • The driver admits to using alcohol or drugs

Conviction on a DWI charge requires that the prosecution prove one of the following legal criteria:

  • The driver had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08
  • The driver was impaired by alcohol or drugs

First DWI Penalties

The state of Texas is tough on drivers who operate a motor vehicle, watercraft or airplane while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Depending on the severity of the charge, a first DWI conviction is a Class B misdemeanor. The defendant can be punished in one or more of the following ways:

  • Incarceration for up to six months
  • A fine of no more than $2,000
  • Probation, community service or driver’s education classes
  • Enhanced charges and penalties for driving with a minor child in the vehicle

A DWI assault charge can result in a third-degree felony conviction for severely injuring someone while driving. The associated penalties include as many as 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. When a driver causes the death of another person while driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, they can be charged with DWI manslaughter. Conviction could mean a second-degree felony, as many as 20 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000.

Meet With a DWI Lawyer in Houston, TX

The police cannot legally pull a driver over for suspicion of driving while intoxicated without probable cause. A Houston DWI attorney will ensure that the police followed proper procedures at the time of the arrest. Rand Mintzer has an exceptional record of safeguarding the legal rights of Houston-area drivers who have been charged with driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Call Rand Mintzer, Attorney at Law at 713-862-8880 for a complimentary consultation.