Texas law enforcement and prosecutors aggressively pursue allegations of child sexual abuse. Backing them are some of the toughest laws against sexual abuse of a child with the most severe penalties.
If you are accused of any sex crimes in Texas, your liberty, reputation and future well-being are at stake.
Allegations of child sexual abuse do not automatically mean that you will be convicted.
Your Houston child sexual abuse lawyer will protect your rights and force the prosecution to prove each element of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt.
The penal code of Texas makes it a third-degree felony to engage in sexual abuse of a child.
The penalties upon conviction include incarceration in a state prison and fines of up to
$10,000. Two or more sexual contact acts between an offender who is over 17 years
of age and a child younger than 14 years of age is a first-degree felony that is
punishable by imprisonment for up to 99 years and fines up to $10,000.
The Family Code of Texas makes failure to report acts of sexual abuse of
a child a misdemeanor crime that is punishable with up to a year in jail.
The statute also allows a judge to impose fines of up to $4,000.
The long-term consequences of a sex crime conviction include mandatory
registration as a sex offender. Once convicted, the accused must register with
Texas law enforcement agencies. The agencies submit the offender’s name, current
address, and conviction information to a state-maintained database that the public can
access on the internet.
A criminal defense attorney will review the facts of a particular case involving child
sexual abuse or child molestation to prepare a strategy that might, depending upon
the facts, include defenses that are based upon mistaken identity or the existence of
an alibi. Because the prosecution frequently relies upon witnesses, a Houston
child sexual abuse attorney will review the evidence to determine how
to attack their credibility and challenge their accounts of the events.